Site Overlay

What We Monitor



Data Loss Protection Implementations

How Data Loss Prevention Works

When someone in your organization sends a message to a recipient outside your organization, the appliance determines which outgoing mail policy applies to the sender or recipient of that message, based on rules that you defined. The appliance evaluates the content of the message using the DLP policies that are specified in that outgoing mail policy.

Specifically, the appliance scans the message content (including headers and attachments) for text that matches words, phrases, predefined patterns such as social security numbers, or a regular expression that you identified as sensitive content in an applicable DLP policy.

The appliance also evaluates the context of disallowed content in order to minimize false positive matches. For example, a number matching a credit card number pattern is only a violation if it is accompanied by an expiration date, credit card company name (Visa, AMEX, etc.), or a person’s name and address.

If message content matches more than one DLP policy, the first matching DLP policy in the list applies, based on the order that you specified. If an outgoing mail policy has multiple DLP policies that use the same criteria to determine whether content is a violation, all policies use the result from a single content scan.

When potentially sensitive content appears in a message, the appliance assigns a risk factor score between 0 – 100 to the potential violation. This score indicates the likelihood that the message contains a DLP violation.

The appliance then assigns the severity level (such as Critical or Low) that you have defined for that risk factor score, and performs the message action that you have specified for that severity level in the applicable DLP Policy.

About Assessing Violation Severity

When the DLP scanning engine detects a potential DLP violation, it calculates a risk factor score that represents the likelihood that the instance actually is a DLP violation. The policy compares the risk factor score to the Severity Scale defined in that policy in order to determine the severity level (for example, Low or Critical.) You specify the action to take for violations at each severity level (except Ignore, for which no action is ever taken.) You can adjust the risk factor scores required to reach each severity level.

Logo Slider